Master of Divinity


The Master of Divinity program prepares students for attaining the Reformed theological background and practical ministry skills. This program is designed primarily for those who expect to enter the pastoral ministry and is helpful for pastors and missionaries in the field. This program provides the standard theology degree that sets the stage for ordained professional ministry. Students may be qualified to pursue a doctoral program in pastoral ministry, including the D.Min. program.




The Master of Divinity degree program enables students to:

1. Exhibit a maturing relationship with Jesus Christ;

2. Demonstrate the ability to exegete the whole Word of God using original biblical languages based on sound knowledge and theology; 

3. Integrate their learning into a Christian worldview based on sound biblical exegesis; and
4. Demonstrate professional ministerial abilities necessary for the pastoral ministry for a pastor, faculty or any professional clergy.




The Master of Divinity curriculum is designed to offer training for the pastoral ministry. Concentrated study in three basic areas (Bible, Theology, and the Practical Theology) characterizes this three-year program. Bible courses include the basic structure, content, and theology of each book of the Bible along with such details concerning major characters, dates, and places as are necessary. Principles of hermeneutics and exegesis, using the original languages as well as the English Bible, are also included. Students learn to apply the scriptures to contemporary circumstances.

The third year is a competency-based model. Students are expected to attain required levels of competency in order to accomplish the goal of each course. Communication and leadership are emphasized during this third year. A variety of experiences and instructors enable students to develop methods and styles of ministry suited to their individual gifts.




Students receive the M.Div. degree when they complete a minimum of 96-semester units.

1. Old Testament (15 Units) 
2. New Testament (15 Units)
3. Systematic Theology (15 Units) 
4. Historical Theology (12 Units)
5. Practical Theology (18 Units) 
6. Common Electives (21 units)


Last 24 units must be taken at IRUS.

A minimum full-time course load is 9 units per semester. A maximum full-time load is 15 units per semester; however, students may petition for additional units if their cumulative average is 3.0 or higher.


Official classification is based on the number of units completed toward graduation as follows: 1st-year students 0-32; 2nd year students 33-64; third year students 65-96.



The following are the course requirements for the M.Div.


1. Old Testament Theology (18 Units Minimum)

OT 501 Hebrew I* (3 Units)

OT 502 Hebrew II (3 Units)

OT 503 Hebrew III (3 Units)

OT 505 Introduction to the Old Testament* (3 Units)

OT 510 Pentateuch* (3 Units)

OT 610 Historical Books* (3 Units)

OT 620 Poetical Books* (3 Units)

OT 624 Book of Job (3 Units)

OT 625 Psalms (3 Units)

OT 630 Prophetical Books (3 Units)

OT 710 Old Testament Exegesis (3 Units)

OT 720 Old Testament Theology (3 Units)

*Required subjects


2. New Testament Theology (15 Units Minimum)

NT 501 Greek I (3 Units)

NT 502 Greek II (3 Units)

NT 503 Greek III (3 Units)

NT 504 Gospels and Acts* (3 Units)

NT 505 Introduction to the New Testament (3 Units)

NT 602 Life and Message of Paul (3 Units)

NT 605 Biblical Hermeneutics* (3 Units)

NT 610 Biblical Theology (3 Units)

NT 701 General Epistles and Revelation (3 Units)

NT 702 N.T. Exegesis (3 Units)

NT 704 Pauline Epistles and Theology* (3 Units)

NT 710 Parables of Jesus (3 Units)

NT 720 Gospel of John (3 Units)

NT 730 Romans (3 Units)

* Required subjects


3. Systematic Theology (15 Units Minimum)

ST 501 Prolegomena and Theology Proper* (3 Units)

ST 505 Anthropology and Christology* (3 Units) 

ST 602 Pneumatology and Soteriology* (3 Units)

ST 605 Ecclesiology and Eschatology* (3 Units)

ST 604 Apologetics (3 Units)

ST 701 Christian Ethics (3 Units)

ST 702 Cults (3 Units)

ST 705 Christian Philosophy (3 Units)

ST 710 Contemporary Theology (3 Units)

ST 720 History of Christian Doctrine (3 Units)

*Required subjects


4. Historical Theology (12 Units Minimum)

HT 501 Early Church* (3 Units)

HT 502 Medieval Church and Reformation Period* (3 Units)

HT 603 Modern Church (3 Units)

HT 701 American and Korean Presbyterian Church* (3 Units)

HT 720 Theology of John Calvin* (3 Units)

* Required subjects


5. Practical Theology (18 Units Minimum)

PT 500 Research and Writing (3 Units)

PT 501 Introduction to Church Music (3 Units)

PT 502 Missions* (3 Units)

PT 503 Worship and Liturgy* (3 Units)

PT 505 Cross-Cultural Ministry (3 Units)

PT 511 Christian Education* (3 Units)

PT 603 Pastoral Counseling (3 Units)

PT 608 Biblical Leadership (3 Units)

PT 610 Evangelism and Church Planting* (3 Units)

PT 611-613 Pastoral Internship I, II, III* (1 Unit each)(3 Units total)

PT 701 Church Polity (3 Units)

PT 705 Theology of Ministry and Administration (3 Units)

PT 704 Preaching I* (3 Units)

PT 706 Preaching II (3 Units)

*Required subjects


Total Degree Units 96 units